Learning and Knowledge Hub

Home / Resources Centre / Declaration of Mayors and Leaders of Local and Subnational Governments of (...)

Declaration of Mayors and Leaders of Local and Subnational Governments of Africa

30 November 2018

We, the Mayors and Leaders of Local and Subnational governments of Africa gathered in the framework of the 8th edition of the Africities Summit held in Marrakech from November 20 to November 24, 2018, under the High Patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI of Morocco, around the theme of "The transition to sustainable cities and territories: the role of local and subnational governments in Africa";

Aware of the new role that Africa will play in the coming years as the world’s first human home with nearly 40% of the world’s population by 2100;

Noting that by 2050, one out of every two young people in the world will be African, and that in the next ten years Africa will see about 200 million of its young people entering the labour market, offering to the economy the opportunity to benefit from the demographic dividend if this workforce is well used, or on the contrary opening a period of social tensions if this workforce is not properly employed;

Taking into account the acceleration of the population changes brought about by the rapid demographic growth of the continent, whose population that was mainly rural 30 years ago will become predominantly urban within 30 years , with an urban population estimated at 1.5 billion inhabitants by 2050;

Given the large migratory flows that the changes in pattern of settlements generate, with people moving from rural areas to urban areas, from poor regions to rich regions, but also from countries and regions experiencing socio-political tensions or displacement related to the consequences of climate change to localities, countries and regions considered at peace and more welcoming;

Concerned by the alert given by the International Panel of Climate Experts (IPCC) warning that the addition of the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) proposed by states in compliance with their commitment pertaining to the implementation of the Paris Agreement to Combat Climate Change still results in an increase of the planet’s temperature by 3 degrees Celsius by the end of the century, well beyond the bar of 2 degrees Celsius defined as the threshold beyond which the climate trajectory would become irreversible, the ideal being to aim for a rise in temperature of the order of 1.5 degrees in relation to pre-industrial temperatures;

Feeling the urgency of the international and continental agendas whose implementation requires a strong commitment of local authorities, especially in Africa;

Convinced that such an engagement is possible only if the local and subnational governments of the continent benefit from a favorable institutional environment, with the human and financial means of action required to exercise the competencies that the laws of decentralization now recognize to the local and subnational governments;

Recognizing that in this matter, the Heads of State and Government of the African Union have shown their firm will to implement and deepen decentralization policies in Africa by adopting in June 2014 in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea, the African Charter of Values and Principles of Decentralization, Local Governance and Local Development; as well as the creation of the High Council of Local Authorities as an advisory body to the Union;

Recalling the key role played by the cooperation between local and subnational governments in accelerating regional integration, conflict prevention, and the preservation of peace among African communities;

DECLARE THE FOLLOWING:

1. We want to make of our cities and our territories living areas which are productive , creating jobs, inclusive, and open to all, where all the inhabitants have the same rights and the same obligations, without exclusion or discrimination, with special attention being dedicated to populations with disabilities and to migrant populations, so that cities and territories are in line with the UN recommendation to leave no one behind;

2. We pledge to promote more participatory governance and a greater presence and effective participation of women and youth in the governing bodies of our cities and territories. In this regard, we are delighted by the launch of the Pan-Africa Campaign for African Cities Without Street Children, initiated by the Network of Locally Elected Women of Africa (REFELA) and under the Patronage of Her Royal Highness Princess Lalla Meryem of Morocco. We encourage cities of Africa to participate in this campaign so that the phenomenon of street children is eradicated in our cities as quickly as possible, since it is true that our life is only as good as the one we offer to our children;

3. We are committed to planning and managing our cities and territories more effectively, following a strategic approach to address the pressing issues facing people, while preparing the conditions for a shift to a ecologically more responsible and socially fairer road to development;

4. We recognize that informality is one of the specific characteristics of African cities and territories, both in terms of the organization and occupation of urban space, as well as the supply of economic activities and jobs in urban and territorial economies. We therefore commit ourselves to mobilizing the informal settlements dwellers and the actors of the informal sector of the economy so that they contribute effectively to the structural transformation of Africa, relying particularly on the creativity and innovation of the youth of our cities and territories;

5. We reaffirm our commitment to make our cities and our territories eco-responsible actors, decided to contribute to the achievement of the Nationally Determined Contributions (CDNs) defined by the national governments for the implementation of the Paris Agreement. We intend to extend the efforts of our national governments through the definition and implementation of Locally Determined Contributions (LDCs) in order to participate in the increase of the ambition of the Paris Agreement and limit global warming to a maximum of 1.5 degrees Celsius by the end of the century. We invite cities and territories of Africa that have not yet done so to join the Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy thus participating in this collective effort to increase the ambitions of the Paris Agreement;

6. We also affirm our commitment to participate in the implementation of Agenda 2063 of the African Union defining the path that leads to the Africa that We Want a century after the birth of the Organization of African Unity to which the African Union has succeeded. We are also determined to work on the localization of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) adopted by the United Nations as part of Agenda 2030, and to participate in the preparation of national reports and specific reports to local and subnational governments produced to measure and verify progress made in achieving the SDGs and their impact on improving the living conditions and the living environment of the populations in our cities and in our territories;

7. We encourage local and subnational governments to group themselves within national associations in each country to promote their synergy of action, and to join our continental umbrella legitimate organization representing the voice of the local and subnational governments of the African continent, United Cities and Local Governments United of Africa (UCLG Africa). In this regard, we welcome the creation of the Forum of African Regions and the Forum of African Metropolises within the framework of UCLG Africa.

8. We are deeply convinced that a strong State is a highly decentralized State. We therefore ask our national governments to put in place an institutional, legal and regulatory framework conducive to decentralization and the application of the subsidiarity principle in the management of public affairs. We draw their attention in particular to the urgency of putting the competencies recognized to local and subnational governments in consistency with the human and financial means necessary to exercise effectively and efficiently these competencies for the benefit of the local populations;

9. We reiterate our call to our National Governments to sign and ratify the African Charter on the Values and Principles of Decentralization, Local Governance and Local Development adopted by the Heads of State and Government of the African Union since June 2014 ; and to the African Union Commission to accelerate the process of setting up and bringing into operation the High Council of Local Authorities as a consultative body of the African Union;

10. We call on development partners to reserve to local governments at least 30% of the budgets dedicated to their cooperation programs. We also request that part of the budgetary support programs negotiated with National Governments be directed towards the achievement of the SDGs at the level of cities and territories;

11. We draw the attention of National Governments, Regional Economic Communities and of the African Union to the urgent need to conduct strategic thinking on the issue of the rapid urbanization of the African continent and its economic, political, social and cultural consequences; and to make it one of the priorities of the political agenda at the national, regional and continental levels. In this regard, we propose that the theme of one of the next Summits of Heads of State and Government of the African Union be : "The contribution of African cities to the structural transformation of the continent ".

12. We urge National Governments to define and implement national urban policies as well as national spatial planning policies to better manage the dynamics of urbanization of our continent, in accordance with the New Urban Agenda adopted by the United Nations in Quito, Ecuador, in October 2016. These policies must be defined in accordance with the principle of leaving no territory aside. They must take into account the potential of each locality, each city and each territory. These policies must organize the interconnection of these territories, cities and localities to promote the mobility of people, goods and factors of production; contribute to the development of local, national and regional markets; and to the establishment of a coherent system of human settlements that creates harmonious relations between cities and their hinterlands, and between major cities, intermediate cities, small towns and rural centers.

13. We call for the strengthening of decentralized cooperation between African local and subnational governments especially in terms of cross-border cooperation. We are convinced that cross-border decentralized cooperation contributes to rooting the dynamics of regional integration on a daily basis and among citizens. In this regard, we call for the establishment of appropriate frameworks for the development of the international action of cities and territories. We are indeed of the opinion that this action broadens the field of international relations and contributes to humanizing relations between Nations. Through this action, we want to participate in the prevention and resolution of conflicts and the preservation of an atmosphere of peace and harmony between communities and peoples of Africa. In this regard, we ask the African Union to include local and subnational governments in her early warning mechanism on conflicts through the involvement of national associations of local and subnational governments at the national level, and of UCLG Africa at the regional and continental level.

14. We welcome the excellent organization of the 2018 Africities Summit and extend our thanks to His Majesty King Mohammed VI who has agreed to grant His High Patronage to this flagship event of UCLG Africa.

15. We thank the Government of the Kingdom of Morocco, the Moroccan Association of Presidents of Communal Councils (AMPCC) and the City of Marrakech for the quality of their welcome and for all the arrangements made available to delegates and which have largely contributed to the resounding success of the 2018 Africities Summit.

16. We sincerely congratulate the Summit’s organizing team for the appropriateness of the theme chosen, the quality of the preparation of the various sessions, the quality of the debates they gave room to, and for the recommendations to which these sessions have led.

17. We salute and congratulate the Association of Mayors of Gabon represented by its President, Mrs. Rose Christiane Ossouka - Raponda, for her brilliant election as President of UCLG Africa for the next three years.

18. Finally, we congratulate Kenya’s Kisumu County and its Governor for having been chosen to host the ninth edition of the Africities Summit in 2021, and urge them to get down to work right away to mobilize the President and the Government of Kenya as well as the Council of Governors of Kenya to ensure that the Africities Summit in Kisumu lives up to the reputation of this important global event.

Done in Marrakech, on November 24, 2018

The Participants

Hub des Savoirs

Accueil / Centre de ressources / Déclaration des maires et leaders des collectivités territoriales (...)

Déclaration des maires et leaders des collectivités territoriales d’Afrique

30 novembre 2018

Nous, Maires et Leaders des Collectivités Territoriales d’Afrique réunis dans le cadre de la 8ème édition du Sommet Africités organisé à Marrakech du 20 au 24 novembre 2018, sous le Haut Patronage de Sa Majesté le Roi Mohammed VI du Maroc, autour du thème : « La transition vers les villes et les territoires durables : le rôle des collectivités territoriales d’Afrique » ;

Conscients du nouveau rôle que l’Afrique est appelée à jouer dans les années qui viennent en tant que premier foyer humain du monde avec près de 40 % de la population mondiale à l’horizon 2100 ;

Constatant que dès 2050, un jeune de moins de 30 ans sur deux dans le monde sera Africain et que dans les dix ans à venir l’Afrique verra environ 200 millions de ses jeunes se présenter sur le marché du travail, offrant à l’économie africaine l’opportunité de bénéficier du dividende démographique si cette force de travail est bien utilisée, ou au contraire ouvrant une période de tensions sociales si cette force de travail n’est pas adéquatement employée ;

Tenant compte de l’accélération des mutations de peuplement qu’entrainent la croissance démographique rapide du continent, dont la population de majoritairement rurale il y a 30 ans va devenir majoritairement urbaine d’ici 30 ans, avec une population urbaine évaluée à 1,5 milliards d’habitants à l’horizon 2050 ;

Etant donné les importants flux migratoires que ces mutations de peuplement génèrent, notamment des zones rurales vers les zones urbaines, des régions pauvres vers les régions riches, mais aussi des pays et régions en proie à des tensions socio-politiques ou à des déplacements liées aux conséquences des changements climatiques vers les localités, pays et régions considérés comme en paix et plus accueillants ;

Préoccupés par l’alerte donnée par le Groupe International des Experts sur le Climat (GIEC) avertissant que l’addition des contributions définies au niveau national (CDN) proposées par les Etats en application de leur engagement dans la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris pour la lutte contre les changements climatiques aboutit néanmoins à une hausse de température de la planète de 3 degrés Celsius d’ici la fin du siècle, bien au-delà de la barre de 2 degré Celsius définie comme le seuil au-delà duquel la trajectoire climatique deviendrait irréversible, l’idéal étant de viser une hausse des température de l’ordre de 1,5 degrés par rapport aux températures de la période préindustrielle ;

Interpelés par les agendas internationaux et continentaux dont la mise en œuvre sollicite un fort engagement des collectivités territoriales, notamment en Afrique ;

Persuadés qu’un tel engagement n’est possible que si les collectivités territoriales du continent bénéficient d’un environnement institutionnel favorable, avec les moyens d’actions humains et financiers à la hauteur des compétences que les lois de décentralisation reconnaissent désormais aux collectivités territoriales ;

Reconnaissant qu’en cette matière, les chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement de l’Union Africaine ont manifesté leur ferme volonté de mettre en œuvre et d’approfondir les politiques de la décentralisation en Afrique en adoptant en juin 2014 à Malabo, Guinée Equatoriale, la Charte Africaine des valeurs et des principes de la décentralisation, de la gouvernance locales et du développement local ; ainsi que la création du Haut Conseil des autorités locales en tant que qu’organe consultatif de l’Union ;

Rappelant le rôle clé joué par la coopération entre collectivités territoriales dans l’accélération de l’intégration régionale, la prévention des conflits, et la préservation de la paix entre communautés africaines ;

DECLARONS CE QUI SUIT :

1. Nous voulons faire de nos villes et de nos territoires des espaces de vie productifs, créateurs d’emplois, inclusifs, et ouverts à tous, où tous les habitants ont les mêmes droits et les mêmes obligations, sans exclusive ni discrimination, avec une attention particulière accordée aux populations vivant avec un handicap et aux populations migrantes, pour être conformes à la recommandation des Nations Unies de ne laisser personne en arrière ;

2. Nous nous engageons à promouvoir une gouvernance plus participative et une présence plus importante et effective des femmes et des jeunes dans les instances de gouvernance de nos villes et nos territoires. Nous nous réjouissons à ce propos du lancement de la Campagne panafricaine des villes africaines sans enfants dans la rue initiée par le Réseau des Femmes élues locales d’Afrique et parrainée par Son Altesse Royale la Princesse Lalla Meryem du Maroc. Nous encourageons les villes d’Afrique à participer à cette campagne afin que le phénomène des enfants dans la rue soit éradiqué dans nos villes le plus rapidement possible, tant il est vrai que notre vie ne vaut que par la qualité de celle que nous offrons à nos enfants ;

3. Nous sommes déterminés à planifier et à gérer nos villes et nos territoires de manière plus efficace, suivant une approche stratégique soucieuse d’apporter des réponses aux problèmes urgents auxquels les populations sont confrontés, tout en préparant les conditions d’une bifurcation vers une voie de développement écologiquement plus responsable et socialement plus juste ;

4. Nous reconnaissons que l’informalité est l’une des caractéristiques spécifiques aux villes et territoires d’Afrique, aussi bien au niveau de l’organisation et de l’occupation de l’espace urbain, que de l’offre d’activités économiques et d’emplois des économies urbaines et territoriales. Nous nous engageons en conséquence à mobiliser les habitants des quartiers d’habitat informels et les acteurs du secteur informel de l’économie pour qu’ils contribuent effectivement à la transformation structurelle de l’Afrique, en misant particulièrement sur le gisement de créativité et d’innovation que constitue la jeunesse de nos villes et de nos territoires ;

5. Nous réaffirmons notre engagement à faire de nos villes et de nos territoires des acteurs éco-responsables, décidés à contribuer à la réalisation des Contributions Décidées au niveau National (CDN) définies par les Etats pour la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris. Nous comptons prolonger l’effort de nos Etats par la mise en œuvre de Contributions Déterminées au niveau Local (CDL) dans l’objectif de participer à l’augmentation de l’ambition de l’Accord de Paris dans le but de limiter le réchauffement climatique à un maximum de 1,5 degré Celsius d’ici la fin du siècle. Nous invitons les villes et territoires d’Afrique qui ne l’auraient pas encore fait à rejoindre la Convention des Maires pour le Climat et l’Energie pour participer à cet effort collectif d’augmentation des ambitions de l’Accord de Paris ;

6. Nous affirmons également notre volonté de participer à la réalisation de l’Agenda 2063 de l’Union Africaine définissant la trajectoire qui mène vers l’Afrique que Nous Voulons un siècle après la naissance de l’Organisation de l’Unité Africaine à laquelle l’Union Africaine a succédé. Nous sommes décidés aussi à travailler à la localisation des Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD) adoptés par les Nations Unies dans le cadre de l’Agenda 2030, et à participer à la préparation des rapports nationaux et des rapports spécifiques aux collectivités territoriales produits pour mesurer et vérifier les progrès faits en matière de réalisation des ODD et de leur impact sur l’amélioration des conditions et du cadre de vie des populations dans nos villes et dans nos territoires ;

7. Nous encourageons les collectivités territoriales à se regrouper au sein d’associations nationales au niveau de chaque pays pour favoriser leur synergie d’action, et à rejoindre notre organisation faitière continentale représentant légitime de la voix des collectivités territoriales du continent africain, Cités et Gouvernements Locaux Unis d’Afrique (CGLU Afrique). Nous saluons à ce propos la création du Forum des Régions d’Afrique et du Forum des Métropoles d’Afrique dans le cadre de CGLU Afrique.

8. Nous sommes intimement convaincus qu’un Etat fort est un État fortement décentralisé. Nous demandons en conséquence à nos États de mettre en place un cadre institutionnel, légal et règlementaire favorable à la décentralisation et à l’application du principe de subsidiarité dans la gestion des affaires publiques. Nous attirons notamment leur attention sur l’urgence de mettre en cohérence les compétences reconnues aux collectivités territoriales avec les moyens humains et financiers nécessaires pour exercer effectivement et efficacement lesdites compétences au bénéfice des populations ;

9. Nous réitérons notre appel à nos États afin qu’ils signent et ratifient la Charte Africaine sur les valeurs et les principes de la décentralisation, de la gouvernance locale et du développement local adoptée par les chefs d’État et de Gouvernement de l’Union Africaine depuis juin 2014 ; et à la Commission de l’Union Africaine, afin qu’elle accélère le processus de mise en place et d’entrée en opération du Haut Conseil des autorités locales en tant qu’organe consultatif de l’Union Africaine ;

10. Nous demandons aux partenaires au développement de réserver aux collectivités territoriales au moins 30% des enveloppes financières consacrées à leurs programmes de coopération. Nous sollicitons également qu’une partie de l’aide budgétaire négociée avec les États puisse être dirigée vers la réalisation des ODD au niveau des villes et territoires.

11. Nous appelons l’attention des États, des Communautés Économiques Régionales et de l’Union Africaine sur le besoin de conduire d’urgence une réflexion stratégique sur la question de l’urbanisation rapide du continent africain et ses conséquences économiques, politiques, sociales et culturelles ; et d’en faire une des priorités de l’agenda politique au niveau national, régional et continental. A cet égard, nous proposons qu’un des prochains Sommets des chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement de l’Union Africaine ait pour thème : « La contribution des villes d’Afrique dans la transformation structurelle du continent  ».

12. Nous demandons aux Etats de définir et mettre en œuvre des politiques urbaines nationales ainsi que des politiques nationales d’aménagement du territoire en vue de mieux gérer la dynamique de l’urbanisation de notre continent, ceci en conformité avec le Nouvel Agenda Urbain adopté par les Nations Unies à Quito, Equateur, en octobre 2016. Ces politiques doivent être définies dans le respect du principe de ne laisser aucun territoire de côté. Elles doivent prendre en compte les potentialités de chaque localité, chaque ville et chaque territoire. Elles doivent organiser l’interconnexion desdits territoires, villes et localités, pour promouvoir la mobilité des hommes, des biens et des facteurs de production ; contribuer au développement des marchés locaux, nationaux et régionaux et à la mise en place d’un système cohérent d’établissements humains organisant des relations harmonieuses entre les villes et leur hinterland, et entre les grandes villes, les villes intermédiaires, les petites villes et les centres ruraux.

13. Nous appelons au renforcement de la coopération décentralisée entre collectivités africaines notamment au niveau de la coopération transfrontalière. Nous sommes convaincus que la coopération décentralisée transfrontalière contribue à enraciner la dynamique d’intégration régionale au quotidien et au niveau des citoyens. Nous demandons à ce propos la mise en place de cadres appropriés pour le développement de l’action internationale des villes et des territoires. Nous sommes en effet d’avis que cette action élargit le champ des relations internationales et contribue à humaniser les rapports entre Etats. Nous voulons à travers cette action participer à la prévention et à la résolution des conflits et à la préservation d’une atmosphère de paix et de concorde entre communautés et peuples d’Afrique. Nous demandons à cet égard à l’Union Africaine d’intégrer les collectivités territoriales au mécanisme d’alerte précoce sur les conflits à travers l’implication de leurs associations nationales et de CGLU Afrique au niveau continental.

14. Nous saluons l’excellente organisation du Sommet Africités 2018 et adressons nos remerciements déférents à Sa Majesté le Roi Mohammed VI qui a accepté d’accorder Son Haut Patronage à cet événement phare de CGLU Afrique.

15. Nous remercions le gouvernement du Royaume du Maroc, l’Association Marocaine des Présidents des Conseils Communaux et la Ville de Marrakech pour la qualité de leur accueil et pour toutes les facilités mises à la disposition des délégués et qui ont été pour beaucoup dans le succès retentissant du Sommet Africités 2018

16. Nous félicitons très sincèrement l’équipe d’organisation du Sommet pour la justesse du thème retenu, la qualité de la préparation des différentes sessions, celles des débats auxquelles elles ont donné lieu et des recommandations auxquelles elles ont abouti.

17. Nous saluons et félicitons l’Association des Maires du Gabon représentée par sa Présidente, Madame Rose Christiane Ossouka-Raponda, pour sa brillante élection au poste de Présidente de CGLU Afrique pour les trois prochaines années.

18. Nous félicitons enfin le Comté de Kisumu au Kenya et son Gouverneur pour le choix porté sur sa collectivité pour accueillir la neuvième édition du Sommet Africités en 2021, et l’engageons à se mettre au travail dès à présent pour mobiliser le Président et le gouvernement du Kenya ainsi que le Conseil des Gouverneurs afin de s’assurer que le Sommet Africités de Kisumu soit à la hauteur de la réputation de cet important événement mondial.

Fait à Marrakech, le 24 novembre 2018

Les Participants